So last Thursday I decided I was taking my Beloved on a date.

We went for our evening bike ride, then when we got back home I told her I wanted to go into town. She asked what we were going for, I told her it was a surprise.

All the way up she was asking me questions, I knew by the bent of her questions she thought I was taking her to a movie. She finally just out and asked if we were going to a show. I said my plans were much better than a movie.

So we headed to McDonalds and got hot fudge sundaes and sat there talking and eating for a while. Then a little before 10 o’clock, we headed out to the Osage Prairie Conservation Area.

We pulled into one of the parking areas and parked. We got out and climbed onto the hood of the car reclining against the windshield. Turns out our windshield is at the perfect angle for reclining star-gazing. And we watched the meteor shower that had just started. It was very dark, but I was a little dissapointed with the amount of light pollution coming from Nevada.

We saw a handful of shooting stars and decided to call it a night. We were both tired, and the bugs were starting to attack us pretty good. When I sat down to drive away I found that my sweaty back had smeared the windshield up pretty good, and I had nothing to clean it with.

On the way home we also got a pretty good look at an own that was sitting on a fence post hunting.

It was a very good date.

